This blog uses affiliate links. Please read my disclosure policy.

Saturday, August 2, 2014

The Berenstain Bears God Shows the Way

The Berenstain Bears God Shows the Way by Stan & Jan Berenstain with Mike Berenstain is three books in one hardback volume for "I Can Read!" level 1 readers. The titles included in this collection include: 
  • Faith Gets Us Through
  • No Not Fear, God is Near
  • Piggy Bank Business

Each story features the familiar Berenstain Bears characters as they learn about serving and caring for others. The colorful pages feature edge to edge illustrations and large font text, with short sentences and short passages on each page. The lines are broken down into about 5-7 words, making the reading manageable for emerging readers. Each story opens with a Bible verse. The messages of each story are grounded in faith, and they are told from a biblical worldview:

"When Sister got bigger
she understood that trust in God
takes away our fears.
As the Bible says:
'When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.
In God, whose word I praise --
in God I trust and am not afraid.'" (Do Not Fear, God is Near)

In Faith Gets Us Through, the Bear Scouts go on a hike with Papa to explore a spooky cave. They are afraid, but they pray and keep strong in their faith as they adventure through some surprises along the way.

Sister Bear must confront her fears in Do Not Fear, God is Here. Though she has outgrown most of her fears, there is one that she hasn't been able to overcome. She must learn to trust God to help her and trust that He is watching over her when she is in situations that make her afraid.

Piggy Bank Blessings shows the cubs learning about money as Mama explains that they "cannot have all the things." They learn to work to earn money and save some of it. They must also learn to spend wisely, and readers are in for a sweet surprise.

{The publisher provided me with a review copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinions.}